In Honor Of Our Veterans

Joseph Ambrose, an 86-year-old World War I veteran, attends the dedication day parade for the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. He is holding the flag that covered the casket of his son, who was killed in the Korean War.

I came across this beautiful poem written by Zach Turquand.  At the time he wrote this he was in the 8th grade.  We all need to remember the sacrifices made by our soldiers and their families.  

Strong

Leaving my family and friends
Shipped off to somewhere new
Where I feel like an alien
It is hard to leave my life behind
My family behind
It is for a good cause though
As long as I return

That’s my fear leaving my family behind forever
So I need to be strong, Army strong
Strong as an ox
Fight for my life and so many others
When I get into that fight, I know what to do
I know who I need to save

My mission complete and I am going home
I am strong after what I have seen
What I’ve done
I am so glad to get back to my family
Continue my life just as it began
I am so proud of my accomplishments
I am Army strong

When I walked into the airport
There were more people than stars in the sky
They cheered for me, thanked me
It was louder than a jet taking off
I was so excited I felt like I just won a billion dollars
I know what I did was right
What I did was Army strong

3 responses to “In Honor Of Our Veterans

  1. A very telling photograph and prose.

    Thank you for posting…

  2. We should honor our veterans every day not just once a year.- they deserve this.

Leave a Reply

