Veteran Stands Up for Gay Soldier Booed at Previous GOP Debate

Have you heard about the guy that shouted out during the presidential debate at Dartmouth College? The guy’s name is Andrew Vera of Hanover, and he is an Iraq Veteran. He spoke up Tuesday night right after Rick Santorum finished speaking about restoring “American values.” 

Mr. Vera emailed his reason for interrupting the debate to The Patch Network, a New Hampshire-based news organization. “I said, ‘Yeah right, you say you want American Values back in the American Family, then where were you when they booed the gay soldier during the last debate,'”   “Let’s get real. As an Iraq Veteran, I think it’s pitiful.” “As they pulled me out, I screamed, ‘don’t taze me, don’t taze me.” 

He said he was cited for disorderly conduct and released. “No regrets at all,” Vera says. “I served in the US Navy, in support and defense of the constitution. It’s a living document.” 

Vera, a Dartmouth College graduate, said he respects the law and that an act of civil disobedience was owing to his pride in serving in the military.

5 responses to “Veteran Stands Up for Gay Soldier Booed at Previous GOP Debate

  1. Whatever comes spewing out of Santorum’s mouth, I wouldn’t give it to the hungriest dog in the world. He’s a dirt bag, and he’s not worthy of being in any office of any kind.

    • I don’t know enough about Santorum except his hypocrisy….touting American Values and then not having the courage (any of them for that matter) to stand up for one of our soldiers. Who cares what he does behind closed doors, he is fighting for us. Just pitiful.

  2. RECLAIMING QUEERS
    by Doug Sloan
    http://dmergent.org/2011/10/07/reclaiming-queers/
    A document of support for the full participation of gays and the full exercise of their rights.

  3. Good for Vera but sadly such comments fall on deaf ears in these kinds of crowds

    • I always felt that there was an intolerance in the Republican party in the past (Christian coalition, etc), but with the emergence of the Tea Party, that intolerance in my view has come to a fever pitch. The different audience reactions during the first 3 debates I found was just deplorable (when I found out about Mr. Vera, I was thrilled someone stood up to these guys). I remain hopeful that it is just a fringe of the GOP but I am doubtful.

Leave a Reply

